| BoldGrid

Forum Replies Created

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 393 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • in reply to: How to Make Dropdown Menus? #24452
    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello Steve,

    Apologies for the delay in this answer.  For some reason, you were not re-directed to the new BoldGrid Support page when you asked your question. Questions that were not supposed to go this older system are being addressed.  So, again, our sincere apologies for the confusion.

    If you are still having a problem with this issue, please repost your question with more information about your installation.  We would need a domain name, BoldGrid and WordPress versions and steps you have taken that we can use to try to duplicate the problem.

    in reply to: Background Photo Not Show on Phone Screen #23638
    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello Nikola,

    Apologies for the delay in this answer.  For some reason, you were not re-directed to the new BoldGrid Support page when you asked your question. Questions that were not supposed to go this older system are being addressed.  So, again, our sincere apologies for the confusion.

    If the problem that you’re having is still an issue, please re-post your question in the new support page and it will be immediately answered.

    in reply to: How Can I Add a Background Video to Front Page? #24255
    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello,

    Apologies for the delay in this answer.  For some reason, you were not re-directed to the new BoldGrid Support page when you asked your question. Questions that were not supposed to go this older system are being addressed.  So, again, our sincere apologies for the confusion.

    There are no updates to the video issue as per my reply.  Custom coding would be required for additional functionality like having a row/section with a video background. Responsive design means that the design would need to be able to handle a change in screen size and adding a video background would cause issues that could affect the responsiveness.

    in reply to: BoldGrid blocks not loading #23177
    Arnel C
    Member

    Apologies for the delay in this answer.  For some reason, you were not re-directed to the new BoldGrid Support page when you asked your question. The issue has since been resolved and questions that were not supposed to go this older system are being addressed.  So, again, our sincere apologies for the confusion.

    Sorry for the problem with the Add block button not working.  Please re-submit your question using the new BoldGrid support page along with more information on your installation.  We would need the domain name, the versions of BoldGrid and WordPress that you are using so that we can investigate the issue in more depth.

    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello,

    Apologies for the delay in this answer.  For some reason, you were not re-directed to the new BoldGrid Support page when you asked your question. The issue has since been resolved and questions that were not supposed to go this older system are being addressed.  So, again, our sincere apologies for the confusion.

    Licensing messages typically indicate that the license has either not been applied or it is not been recognized.  One of the ways to address it is to remove the software and then re-install it.  You will see the license requested when you load the BoldGrid Inspirations plugin. If you wish for the BoldGrid support team to look a the issue directly, then, please re-submit the question to the new support page along with your domain information so that the key in question can be found.

    If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know

    in reply to: I need help with my inspiration not installing correctly #21983
    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello,

    Apologies for the delay in this answer.  For some reason, you were not re-directed to the new BoldGrid Support page when you asked your question. The issue has since been resolved and questions that were not supposed to go this older system are being addressed.  So, again, our sincere apologies for the confusion.

    Support chat is not available via BoldGrid, but your hosting service may provide it.  If your question can be addressed by the host’s support team, or they may help you pass along the issue to BoldGrid’s support team.

    If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

     

     

    in reply to: Formatting blog posts #21981
    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello,

    Thanks for your question about attributing an author to a particular post.  When you post content in WordPress, attribution of that content is based on the user that you are logged in with.  So, if you want to post content, you can put the author IN that post’s text to identify the actual author.  If you want the post name to change you would have to create a user in that name using the WordPress Admin.  It is probably more accurate to simply include the content attribution within the post.  This is how WordPress posts have always operated. You are also not the first person to be concerned about this so there are many WordPress plugins that address this issue.  This is a good example of one Simple Author Box.  You can see my screenshots below to see the default functionality from WordPress (and BoldGrid):

    [caption id="attachment_16400" align="alignleft" width="300"]BoldGrid Editor view of post This is a block with a quote and attribution used in the quote.[/caption]

    [caption id="attachment_16401" align="alignleft" width="276"]Post view with internet browser This is the Post view (as though you’re viewing it from a browser)[/caption]

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    I hope this helps to explain the issue.  If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

     

    Kindest regards,

    Arnel C.

    in reply to: Changing URL with trial version #21979
    Arnel C
    Member

    Thanks for your question about using BoldGrid and trying to change the URL to a previously registered domain name.  If you are using a demo version of the product, then you will need to obtain the premium version in order to use the BoldGrid-created site with your domain name.

     

    If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

     

    Kindest regards,

    Arnel C.

    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello,

    Apologies for the problems with the Add block function from the block library as well as the drag-and-drop issues.  We would need more information in order to investigate the issue.  Can you please provide your domain name and version information for the plugins and WordPress?  Providing access may also be necessary for us to be able to investigate the issue in more depth. rid plugins are up-to-date and WordPress is updated. Make sure that all of your BoldGrid plugins are up-to-date and WordPress is updated. Remember also that BoldGrid is a series of plugins for WordPress.  If you have loaded another theme editor or plugin, it is possible that a conflict may exist with that plugin.  Disable your plugins (except the BoldGrid ones) one-by-one to see identify any plugin issues.

    If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

     

    Kindest regards,

    Arnel C.

    in reply to: Help with CSS Menu/MenuMaker Pro #21975
    Arnel C
    Member

    Apologies for the problem with your menus after installing MenuMaker Pro.  This is a third-party plugin that we did not create, so we cannot provide support with it.  You may want to contact their developer and ask for further assistance.  If they can identify the problem and require further assistance from BoldGrid, then we would the specifics to determine if there is anything we can do to resolve any possible software conflict.

     

    If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

     

    Kindest regards,

    Arnel C.

    Arnel C
    Member

    Sorry for the problem with not being able to see the Visual side of the editor. Make sure that all of your BoldGrid plugins are up-to-date and WordPress is updated. Remember also that BoldGrid is a series of plugins for WordPress.  If you have loaded another theme editor or plugin, it is possible that a conflict may exist with that plugin.  Disable your plugins one-by-one to see identify any plugin issues.  If the problem recurs, then please provide us temporary admin access and information to your site so that we can investigate your site in more depth.

    If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

     

    Kindest regards,

    Arnel C.

    Arnel C
    Member

    Sorry for the problem with your pages and for the delay in this answer.  Make sure that all of your BoldGrid plugins are up-to-date and WordPress is updated.  If everything is correct, then please provide more information on your site so that we can investigate the issue in more depth.  Remember also that BoldGrid is a series of plugins for WordPress.  If you have loaded another theme editor or plugin, it is possible that a conflict may exist with that plugin.  Disable your plugins one-by-one to see identify any plugin issues.

    Arnel C
    Member

    Quick update to this answer:  Gutenberg is now fully integrated as the default editor in WordPress version 5.0.  BoldGrid allows you to use the default editor (Gutenberg) or use the BoldGrid Post and Page builder for content creation or modification.

    in reply to: how do I add https to my boldgrid webpage? #21987
    Arnel C
    Member

    Thanks for the question about using SSL and purchasing an SSL certificate.  In order to use HTTPS, you will need an SSL certificate.  Depending on your host (for your web site), you will need to see if you have a free SSL available to you and if it is a good solution to use for your website.  If you a want stronger and insured SSL to applied to your website, then you should spend the money on an SSL so that you can feel more confident about the security of a secure connection to your site.  You can easily find SSL certificate sellers by simply using a search engine like Google, or by speaking with your host’s technical support team.

    I hope that helps to answer your question! If you require further assistance please let us know!

    Regards,
    Arnel C.

    in reply to: How to Make Dropdown Menus? #24454
    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello Christo,

    Thanks for your question about the submenus. At the time of the question above, the issue could not be resolved without custom coding – to my knowledge. I tested this on my own test site and I need to point out a few things first. The menu items that you see with a default installation include Post Type Archive, Series, and Podcast.

    The default list of items (pages, posts,etc) do not include the post types described and shown in the original question. These can be added using a plugin or custom coding in WordPress. I believe that this is the reason that the menu was not displaying the sub-menus or sub-sub-menus. I loaded a plugin called Custom Post Type UI and then added one of the custom post types – Post Type Archive. I also noticed that the question included a label that did not need to be a post type (Series). I tested the structure by creating a Category called “January”.  I then created a submenu and a submenu item as you can see above. Once it’s created, you have to publish the changes to save them. When I reviewed the menu I could see that it was working.

     

    So, at least for me, the sub-sub-menus are working. However, I’ll take it one step further and create two other custom menu items- Months and Past Year. Even with the three custom post types I was able to see that the menus were working.

    Please double-check your versions of the plugins and WordPress version.  As far I can see they are working.  If you have further questions please let us know.

     

    Kindest regards,

    Arnel C.

    in reply to: Is there an html sitemap plugin that works with boldgrid? #21994
    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello!

    Thanks for your question about finding an HTML sitemap plugin that works with BoldGrid.  BoldGrid is a series of plugins that works within a WordPress installation.  So, if you want use a SiteMap plugin, you simply need to find one that works with WordPress.  You can find many sitemap plugins here. If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

     

    Kindest regards,

    Arnel C.

    in reply to: Using a host that is not a partner #21992
    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello,

    Thanks for your question about using BoldGrid on a non-partner host.  BoldGrid is not a hosting service, it is a series of plugins that work with a stand-alone WordPress installation to build your website.  If they want to use it on their GoDaddy site, you simply have to load WordPress on their site, then add the plugins using the Plugins section of the WordPress installation. If you require further assistance, please let us know.

    Regards,

    Arnel C.

    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello,

    Sorry for the problem with your WordPress site not able to edit pages and not being able to update the BoldGrid plugins. First, we would really need to know what versions of the Plugins that you have and the version of WordPress that you’re using so that we can track this particular issue.  I would suggest that you deactivate the BoldGrid plugins and then load the newest versions of the plugins to see if you can get them working.  Before you make ANY changes, though, please make sure that you have a complete backup of the site.  After you have completed a backup, and if deactivating and reloading the BoldGrid plugins did not work, then please remove the older plugins and try loading them once again.  If you continue to have problems after that, then there is a possible problem with either the WordPress installation itself or a conflict with an existing plugin or theme.  If you can, try creating a 2nd WordPress installation and test the installation of the BoldGrid plugins.

    If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

     

    Kindest regards,

    Arnel C.

    in reply to: How can I delete my account on Boldgrid ? #22002
    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello Yuri,

    Sorry for the problem with the deletion.  It depends on how you signed up.  If you created a BoldGrid account through a hosting service, then you need to talk with them about removing it from your account.  If you signed up in BoldGrid Central, then please send your deletion request to support@boldgrid.com.  Sorry for any confusion!

    Kindest regards,

    Arnel C.

    in reply to: How can I delete my account on Boldgrid ? #22003
    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello,

    Sorry to hear that you wish to remove BoldGrid. If you ran into issues in its use, then please let us know if there is anything we can do resolve those problem(s).

    BoldGrid is a plugin for WordPress, so in order to remove it from your WordPress site, simply go to the plugins and deactivate, then delete the plugins to remove all of the files. We do not control your hosting service or the domain name, so you will need to either continue management of those services or speak with your vendors in order to discontinue them.

    in reply to: What is the renewal price for Boldgrid? #22000
    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello,

    Thanks for the question about a renewal price for BoldGrid.  BoldGrid is a subscription, so at present, it’s $60/year. Therefore, if you paid $60 this year, then the renewal price is $60 next year.

     

    If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

     

    Kindest regards,

    Arnel C.

    in reply to: How do I prevent spamming in my blog comments #21998
    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello,

    Thanks for the question about preventing spam in your blog comments.  As you are working in a WordPress installation, you can load a WordPress plugin Captcha or ReCaptcha to help control the spam in your comments.  If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

     

    Kindest regards,

    Arnel C.

    in reply to: Link and gallery #22010
    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello,

    Thanks for your question about the social media icons opening in a new tab and changing the number of images in a row. The social media icons are a function of the menu and currently, there is no way to make the link jump to a new tab using the existing functionality.  You would have to make a coding change.  I would recommend not using the Social Media feature and using a plugin for your social media links.  That would be the quickest way to resolve that issue.

    The number of images in a row can be controlled through the Add Gallery option in BoldGrid.  This explanation will involve the use of Gutenberg – the new editor provided by WordPress:

     

    1. Go to Pages and Add a BLANK New page
    2. If you Gutenberg loaded (which WordPress will soon make the default), then it will automatically create the page using the Gutenberg editor.
    3. In the top right corner of the Gutenberg editor, click on SAVE DRAFT.
    4. Under the Pages Menu, click on ALL Pages, then select the draft you just saved.  Make sure to open it using the Classic editor.
    5. Once the page is opened in the Classic editor you will be able to use the BoldGrid options.
    6. When you have the blank page opened you will have the option to add media.  Click on the button labeled Add Media.
    7. In the top left corner, of the Media window will be the option to add a gallery.  Select the images you want to add to the gallery.  Hold down the shift key to add multiple images.
    8. Click on Create Gallery. 
    9. You will then see the option to EDIT Galley.  A column on the right will open up and you will see an option for Columns.  This option gives you the ability to edit the number of columns.

    10.17.2018-14.11.41

    I hope that helps!  If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

     

    Kindest regards,

    Arnel C.

     

     

     

     

    Arnel C
    Member

    Thanks for your question about making the homepage larger in the Swifty theme for mobile devices. This is not normally something you can do using the native controls within WordPress or BoldGrid.  You would either need to use custom CSS to format the image differently, or you can obtain the actual file being used by the theme and then edit the file directly with a graphics program. This would mean locating the file, downloading, editing it (in a graphics program) and then re-uploading the file to your WordPress site. WordPress generates the different file sizes and saves them in the wp-content/uploads folder.  It may take a little searching to find the file, but you can edit the smaller sizes so that the image looks larger within the size constraints that are being used.  I hope that helps to explain the issue.  If you require further assistance, please provide the URL and we can look at the issue in more depth.

     

    If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

     

    Kindest regards,

    Arnel C.

    in reply to: Attribution Control not working #22026
    Arnel C
    Member

    Hello Melanie,

    Apologies for any delay in the response to this question.  First, the Attributions can be hidden only if you have purchased a premium key with BoldGrid.  If you have done that and you are still having problems, then we would need more information on your account in order to troubleshoot the issue.  We would need your URL, the versions of BoldGrid that you are using (obtained in the Plugins page), and steps you can tell us that could help lead to the duplication of the issue. Please provide this information and we can investigate the issue in more depth.

    If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

     

    Kindest regards,

    Arnel C.

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 393 total)